Early morning yoga

Empty carriage on the first tube of the day.
This is what an empty tube carriage looks like. (AKA: the benefits of early morning yoga)

To fit in all the necessary classes for this 30 Day Challenge, I’ve started waking up at the ungodly hour of 5am, rolling out of bed and making it to the bus stop for 5.15  – all so I can catch the first tube of the day to the yoga studio across town to practice at 6.30am.

And while I am tired, wishing I was still in bed, and cursing the fact that the studio isn’t closer to home (but at least it’s near work!) the journey is actually quite magical.

For most of the journey the tube carriages are empty, but as people show up they all seem to be in the same half-asleep stupor as I am. We all seem to move slowly through the motions of our journeys, avoiding eye contact and calmly sitting in our seats, peacefully waiting for the tube to reach our destinations so we can alight and continue with our day.

When I finally arrive at the studio it is a much different matter.

The teacher is always awake and ready to teach; the girl on reception is bouncing about with great energy, welcoming everyone and encouraging us to take our places early to adjust to the heat. And you can tell who the regular early morning practitioners are by how quickly they move. (I’m not one of them.)

But the benefits from practicing so early are amazing!*

I have more energy and focus throughout the day and am incredibly productive at work. My food choices are also affected, and I find myself craving herbal teas and raw fruit/veg instead of lattes with whole fat milk and a large chocolate bar. I expect this will do wonders for my waistline in the coming weeks, which would be a very welcome benefit indeed!

*The one benefit I dislike is the lack of time to booze. Too much booze in the evenings means no class in the morning, and with everything else that needs getting done it feels like there’s no time for booze at the weekend. It’s awful. This challenge needs to end so I can get properly pissed.

3 thoughts on “Early morning yoga

  1. I’m so tempted to try early morning yoga but I am soooo not a morning person. Maybe I’ll give it a go in the summer, it sounds like such a wonderful way to start the day.

    Like

    1. Hi MK, I’m not a morning person either but I really do find it to be an incredible experience! Give it a go and see what happens – worst case scenario you oversleep and have to go to an evening class instead. Which, uh… is more my style than I’d like to admit. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

