Separating the man from the yoga

This one’s going to be serious. Sorry about that guys & gals, I just don’t think sarcasm would be wholly appropriate here.

By now you’ve probably heard about the lawsuits brought against Bikram Choudhury, the man behind Bikram yoga. There are several lawsuits, in fact.

When I began this blog I titled it Bikram and Booze with the aim of sharing my connection to, and discovery of, yoga. I want to make yoga feel more accessible, that way people who know nothing about it can feel more comfortable checking out a first class. (Like I’ve said: not everyone who practices yoga is a raw vegan! Some of us love a good burger.) I also want to provide some entertainment for those of us who practice all the time.

And so, I titled it Bikram and Booze; Bikram after Bikram’s yoga (which I currently practice a lot of!) and Booze because I love my gin and cocktail nights out.

However, with these allegations against Birkam Chodhury I’ve become more and more uneasy using his name as part of my online identity. I do believe in innocent until proven guilty, so I won’t make any comments about what I think is going on; I’ll let the courts decide.

Regardless, I’ve decided to change the name of this blog. It’s now Bending and Booze, which I think more accurately reflects the  various styles of yoga that I practice (Bikram, Ashtanga, Vinyasa, Iyengar…) and plan to explore, as well as staying true to my roots about wanting to share my yoga experiences.

And so, I’d like to welcome you to Bending and Booze!

Serious post over, Katie out.

Namaste xo

2 thoughts on “Separating the man from the yoga

Leave a Reply

